Week 233 – The Widow that Keeps the Cock Inn

On Boxing Day I posted – for the first time – a song where I had never really intended to learn the words. Here’s one which I did intend to learn, once upon a time, but after 35 years of not learning it, I think I should probably face up to the fact that it’s never going to happen!

I got the words – originally sourced from a ballad in the Nottingham University Library Broadside Collection – from The Common Muse: An Anthology Of Popular British Ballad Poetry, edited by Vivian De Sola Pinto and Allan E. Rodway, and made up a suitable tune.

I have to say, I rather like the tune, but otherwise the only reasons for singing it are a few weak puns, and the deliberately lewd last line of each verse.

 

The Widow that Keeps the Cock Inn

3 Responses to “Week 233 – The Widow that Keeps the Cock Inn”

  1. You will not believe how I found your blog! Never 😀 Also, first of all thank you so much for singing this because there are no other songs of this ballad anywhere on the Internet and just reading and ‘singing’ it myself was horrible.

    So, today I was lying in bed, reading a fanfiction on AO3 about Steve Rogers aka Captain America and Bucky Barnes aka the Winter Soldiers from the Marvel comics and films. Steve was an artist, Bucky an enslaved genie, they fell in love, it was wonderful. (it’s the ‘If wishing made it so’ series by leveragehunters https://archiveofourown.org/series/459382)
    In the Halloween special they get haunted by a ghost-pirate, who is Clint Barton aka Hawkeye, who is forced to sing in order to drive others into madness. And one of the songs he sings is ‘The Widow who keeps the Cock Inn’. And while the lyrics were in the story, I really wanted to know what I sounds like but it seems like there are NO recordings except for yours, which is GREAT by the way, so thank you so so so much for publishing this. I am happy right now, you would not believe. I hope you still get this message even though the post is already three years old….
    Again, thank you so much, have a great day and all the best greetings from Germany!

Trackbacks

Leave a comment